Plans change and sometimes you need to delete some Tasks. And if plans change again, it’s also possible to bring those Tasks back. Find out about deleting and restoring Tasks in Ganttic.
- Owners, Admins, and Users with Resource Task edit rights can delete Tasks.
- Only Owners and Admins can restore deleted Tasks.
- Tasks can be restored 30 days after they are deleted - anything longer than that cannot be recovered.
- Restore Tasks via the planner’s History Log or via Resource’s History Log.
- Deleting a Task can be undone for the next 10 seconds after the initial deletion. After deleting a Task, see the “Task Deleted - UNDO” icon appear on top right.
- Select your Task and click to open the Task Edit Dialog.
- Click the Delete task (bin) icon from the Task Edit Dialog toolbar.
- Confirm the action in the pop up. Hit OK. After deleting a Task there’ll be about 10 seconds to undo the action. Find the “Task Deleted - UNDO” icon on top right just after deleting a Task. Click UNDO to restore the deleted Task.
- The Task is deleted from everywhere in the Chart, including from the Lists and the Resource’s timelines.
NB! Double-check before if it’s a Shared Task. Copies of the Shared Task will also be deleted from all Resources' timelines.
- Click the G in the top left corner. This is where the Account History Log can be accessed from.
- Search for the deleted Task you’d like to recover. Use any of the filter parameters you need. An easy one is selecting Deleted from the Status drop down menu. You can also search Event > Delete. Or by Object > Task.
- You’ll see all the deleted items within the selected timestamp.
NB! Make sure to adjust the timestamp or specify other parameters, if you can’t find the deleted Task. Deleted Tasks will only be able to be recovered for 30 days after deletion.
- Click the ellipsis on the right and select Restore task.
- Your Task is now restored and appears on Resources' timelines across the planner.
If you know the Resource from which the Task was deleted, you can also restore the Task by searching that Resource’s History. Discover more about Ganttic’s Account History Log. It’s the central place where Admins can see when Users logged in, what changes were made, and of course restoring those changes when necessary.