Resource rights are a way to control exactly which Resources and timelines the User can see across the planner, as well as which Resources' Tasks the User can create/edit. Acting as a secure way to protect your Resources' Tasks/timelines from any unwanted access and changes. On top, in this section you can also specify if the User is able to add in new Resources. See how!
- Only Owners and Administrators have the ability to modify Users' Resource permissions.
- General Resource Task editing and access permissions, as well as Resource adding permissions may only be specified for individual Users. Owners and Admins can automatically see and edit all Resources' Tasks and add new Resources.
- It’s possible to also create and grant Resource rights to User-defined Resource Groups.
- Any of the selected default Resource permissions may be overridden with Special permissions, also outlined here. Or with Resource Group permissions.
- It’s also possible to create User Groups and specify Resource and other item rights for the Group. Assigning a User to a User Group will automatically apply group rights.
Before You Start: User Types
Resource rights may only be specified for Users. If you see that Resource rights are grayed out and inaccessible for you to specify, it’s due to their User type. Please go through the Helpdesk article Users and Permissions Intro to get to know the level of access of different types of Users.
Specifying Resource Rights for Users
- Click on Users from the left sidebar. This will open the User List.
- Click on the User's name whose rights you’d like to specify. This will open their User profile.
- Select Resource Rights from the menu on the left.
- Specify the User’s default Resource permissions:
- Can see only selected Resources. The User is able to view selected Resources' timeline/Tasks but can't add/edit Tasks.
- Can see Resources, can't add/edit Tasks. The User can see all Resources' timelines/Tasks but can't edit add/edit Tasks.
- Can see Resources, can add/edit Tasks. The User can see all Resources' timelines/Tasks and is able to add and edit them.
- Add and edit Resources and Tasks. The User can see all Resources' timelines/Tasks, is able to add/edit Tasks and add in new Resources.
- Apply Resource groups and specify default Resource permissions for groups or selected Resources within the groups. Or, continue specifying Resource permissions without resource groups
NB! Resource Groups are created via List-type Resource Data Fields.
- Overwrite the default Resource permissions with special Resource permissions. Choose the editing rights for each Resource.
- Hide. Selected Resource's timeline along Tasks are hidden from the User.
- View only. The User can see the selected Resource's timeline but cannot add/edit Tasks.
- Edit. The User can see the selected Resource's timeline and can add/edit Tasks.
- Click on Save Resource Rights.
Resource Rights in Action
Here’s a few situations where Resource Rights may come in handy while planning.
Allow Users to edit their own data
If you have a User that only needs to edit the data and Tasks of a specific Resource (f.e. the Resource that represents himself), set the default permission to "Can only see selected resources", and set the special permissions to "Edit" or "View only" for that particular Resource. When this User logs in to the planner, they can only see this Resource's timeline and Tasks.
Control the Resources different teams and departments can access
When defining Resource rights, it’s possible to Group Resources via your Resource Data Fields. This makes it easier to override their default permissions with special permissions - and more easily controlling what data that User has access to.
For example if you have a team leader in the IT department, maybe she only needs the edit rights of other IT department Resources, with only viewing rights for other departments. Or if you have project managers in different locations, you can completely block other sections of the resource pool, making it easier for them to hone on the right resources for scheduling.
Continue specifying a User's rights regarding Data Fields, Projects, Views, and Reports.