With whom you wish to share your plans? Sometimes it's better if only selected Users can create and edit the Views in your account or if certain Users can access only selected private or public Views.
- Only Owners and Administrators have the ability to modify Users' Custom View Rights.
- The Custom View Rights may only be specified for Users. Owners and Admins are automatically granted full rights.
- Users can only create private Views, if they have enough rights.
- View editing permissions of a specific View overrides the general View permissions explained in this article.
- Custom View rights are granted for each individual User. It’s also possible to also create and grant View and other item rights to User Groups.
- Access to shared Views can be granted only after the Views are shared with the User from the View permissions section.
Before You Start: User Types
Custom View rights may only be specified for Users. If you see that View rights are grayed out and inaccessible for you to specify, it’s due to their User type. Please go through the Helpdesk article Users and Permissions Intro to get to know the level of access of different types of Users.
Specifying Project Rights for Users
- Click on Users from the left Sidebar. This will open the User List.
- Click on the User's name whose rights you’d like to specify. This will open their User profile.
- Select View Rights from the menu on the left.
- Specify the User’s general View permissions regarding access:
- Public and shared Views - the User is able to access, create and edit parameters of all public and shared Custom Views.
- Only shared views - the User is able to access, create and edit parameters of shared Custom Views only
- Specify the User’s general View permissions regarding private Views:
- Create and edit private views - the User is able to access, create and edit parameters of all private Custom Views.
- Change View settings - the User is able to edit all public Views, including the ones that are only shared with the User.
- You can see the View appearing in the "Shared views" section below as well. Click on X to remove the User's access for this View.
NB! Only Views that are previously shared specifically with this User will appear in the list. Public and private Views are not listed here.
- Click on Save view rights to apply the permissions.
Tip! Access to shared Views can be granted only after the Views are shared with the User from the "View permissions" section: make sure you tick the “Change view settings” if you wish them to save the Filters, Groupings etc to a View. Without at least giving them “Change View Settings” they can only see public Views and associated data.
Continue customizing your Users' rights by proceeding to the Report Rights tab on the left to specify Report permissions.