For every single Custom View you create in Ganttic, you not only decide what data is visible, but also who it’s visible to. The View’s Permissions allow you to create a new View that’s strictly private, public, or available only to specific Users. See how!
- Only Owners and Admins can change the Custom View Permissions.
- Every Custom View has three modes: Private, Public, Selected Users.
- When creating a new Custom View, it is Private by default. No one else may see or access that View.
- In order to bring others in on your Custom View, change the View’s permissions to Public or Selected Users.
- In addition to the View’s specific permissions, it’s possible to apply account level User Rights for that View, as well as its Projects, Resources and Data Fields.
- Public Views and those shared with Select Users can be Locked. This prevents other Users from making permanent changes to the View via View Toolbar features (Grouping, Sorting, Coloring, Filtering, etc).
Applying Permissions to a Custom View
- Open a Custom View. You’ll find the View List at the star icon. Select and open your View.
- Once the View opens, click on the View Permissions icon at the top right, next to the Shared icon.
- Select the View’s Permissions from one of three options:
- Private - Only you can see, edit and manage this Custom View. Your team members are able to access it once you make it public or share it with specific Users.
- Public - the Custom View is accessible to all the Owners, Admins and Users. This automatically gives all Admins and Owners the option to apply permanent View Toolbar settings to this View. For Users, specify the level of access for Custom Views under User Rights Settings.
- Selected Users - choose the Users you want accessing this Custom View.
- With Public and Selected Users options, decide if you want View’s Toolbar “Locked” or not. Do this by ticking the Lock view settings box. These settings do not affect Admins and Owners.
- By ticking Lock View Settings - Users cannot make any changes via the View’s Toolbar features other than navigating on the Timeline. However, if a User has enough rights for Resources' Tasks on the account level, they can add and edit Tasks.
- Not ticking Lock View Settings - the Users can apply the View Toolbar features for themselves temporarily, but cannot save them to the Custom View permanently. This means these settings won't be applied for other Users using this Custom View. Also, any Users Rights applied at the account level will remain active - Grouping, Sorting, Coloring, Filtering, etc.
- If you want Share the Custom View with selected Users, click on the Select users prompt. This will open the list of active Ganttic Users.
- Tick the box next to the Users’ name. Then hit Select at the top. You’ll return to the View’s Permissions dialog. From here you can also remove Users with access to the View.
- Hit Save when your selection is completed.
- Return to the View. Its permissions will be displayed in the top right corner.
In addition to sharing your Custom Views, Single Project Views can also be shared. See how permissions work for Single Projects.