If a Project is finished and you want to remove associated data from your planner, Archiving it is a good way to clean house. Archiving a Project will not erase its data, but hide it and its Tasks from the timeline. Plus, you can dearchive the Project at any time. See how!
- All Owners, Admins and Users with Edit or Add/Edit Project permissions are able to Archive and Dearchive Projects.
- Archive projects individually or in bulk.
- Once you archive a Project, its Tasks will be archived too.
- Archived Projects' Tasks will not show up in Reports unless you choose so.
- Archived Projects cannot be edited, but their Notes, History, and Data Fields can be viewed from the Archive Folder in the Project List.
- Projects that are Archived can be Dearchived at any time. Deleting Projects is a more permanent option.
- Dearchiving a Project will also dearchive the Tasks connected to it.
Archiving Individual Projects
- Open the Project List. You'll find the icon in the left Sidebar.
Tip! You can also do this from the Kanban board - just Toggle from the List to the Kanban Board.
- Click on the Project name you want to Archive. This opens the Project Edit Dialog.
- In the Dialog toolbar, Select the Archive project icon.
- A pop up will open asking for confirmation. Click OK.
- The Project is now Archived. See the full list from the Archived Folder on the Project List.
NB! Archiving a Project will just remove its Tasks from the schedule but will not delete your data permanently. If you want to, you can dearchive at any time, and the Project and its Tasks will reappear on Resources' timelines.
Archiving Multiple Projects
- Open the Project List by clicking on this icon in the left Sidebar.
- Select Projects you want to Archive by clicking the check mark box. You can select one or multiple Projects
- Click on Archive found in the Toolbar.
- Hit OK to confirm in the popup.
- The Projects you have selected are now archived. See them all from the Archived folder.
Dearchiving a Project
- Open the Project List. You'll find it on the left Sidebar.
- Open the Archived folder at the top right. There, you'll see all the Projects that have been Archived.
- Select your Projects. You can select one or more.
- Click on Dearchive. The Projects will appear in the Project List, Kanban Board, and Views along with their Tasks.
- Click the Active folder on the top right to return to Active Projects' folder.
NB! If you want to view archived Projects' data first before dearchiving, then simply run a Custom Report that includes this data. Generating Reports with archived Projects' data included or with archived Projects' data only is possible.
If you’re looking for a more permanent option of getting rid of your old projects, try Deleting them instead.