The Project Edit Dialog is a convenient way to edit any of your planner’s Project details. Discover how to use it for quickly updating Projects’ details.
- When clicking on any Project Name, the Project Edit Dialog will pop open.
- The Project Edit Dialog is a place for quickly updating Project's details like Name, color, Data Fields' custom information and leave Notes.
- All Owners, Admins and Users with Edit or Add/Edit Project permissions can edit the Project Dialog.
- Tasks and Resources also have similarly designed Edit Dialogs.
- By opening the Project in a Single Project View, a wider array of customization and Resource scheduling options are available - such as the Tasks, Project Resources and All Resources modes, Project Templates, Shift Project, Copy Project functions and different permissions and sharing options.
Opening the Project Dialog from the Project List
- Start from the Project List by clicking the Project icon on the left Sidebar.
- Click on a Project to open the Project Edit Dialog. In the Edit Dialog toolbar at the top you’ll see feature icons from left to right:
- Open Project View - opens as a Single Project View.
- Archive Project - use for inactive or finished projects you want to hide from the list. Archiving a Project will also remove all associated Tasks from the Chart. Dearchive at any time.
- Delete Project - permanently delete a Project. Projects deleted in the last 30 days can be restored by Admins.
- Project Notes - collaborative comments on updates and issues.
- Project History - a log of all actions applied to this specific Project. All actions on the item are also logged in the Account History log.
- In the Edit Dialog you can edit the Project’s Name and Color, Archive or Delete, add and view Project Notes and access the Project's History Log.
- Existing Project Data Fields and their values may also be updated.
NB! In this workflow, new Project Data Fields can only be added from the Project List.
- Once the Project is edited, hit Save.
Opening the Project Dialog from a Task
- Start by opening a Task Edit Dialog. Do that by clicking on any Task in the Chart.
- The Task’s associated Project is found in the Project field below the Task name. Open the Project Dialog by clicking the Edit Project icon to the right of the Project Name.
- In the Project Edit Dialog itself you can edit the Project’s Name and Color, Archive or Delete, add and view Project Notes and access the Project's History log.
- Hit Save to return to Task Edit Dialog. If you don't add or edit anything then click the back-arrow to return to Task Edit Dialog.
Continue customizing your Project’s Tasks and Resources by opening it in a Single Project View. This option is great when you have multiple project managers, since each PM can customize their own Projects accordingly. Focus on only one Project at a time, but keep an eye on how it relates to other Projects' Tasks and Resources.